Three Poems for an Old Love.

Here’s something fun for my readers. This post is pretty much the summation of my diary from 8th grade through my Freshman year of high school. It was during this year-and-a-half long period of time that I was convinced that Jon was the love of my life. We always said that we were going to run away together and be pirates. We’d sail the Seven Seas seeking lost treasures and wonders of nature. And then one day we’d drop anchor in the Mediterranean and spend the rest of our lives on the beautiful Greek Isle of Santorini, drinking rum and reminiscing about our younger adventuring days.

I wrote this first poem for him when I was in the midst of the mightiest throes of affection and admiration for him. The second one I wrote with a broken heart as I grew a little bit older and began to see that my dreams of Jon would not become my reality. The third little poem, really just more of a silly rhyme, didn’t come to me until last year. I became reacquainted with Jon for a brief time last Winter after five years of silence and I went to visit him in Ohio. It was interesting to see how we’d both grown up and become such different people. Sure, I’d see glimpses every once in a while of that same old Jon I used to know, but the overwhelming feeling I got was that the man in front of me was a stranger. So the third piece is just a lighthearted little ditty about growing up and the way broken hearts heal against all odds.

These poems are for anyone who has ever been young and (almost) in love.

 

The Drunken Lullaby

Let’s build a ship and sail away,
To land we bid farewell today!
Tonight between the sea and sky
We sing a drunken lullaby!

Firm ground we leave behind today,
What else is there to choose?
Toss fate to salty wind and say,
“We’ve everything to lose!”

We sail beneath the Jolly Roger,
Send those who won’t to Davy’s Locker!
We sail as days and clouds go by
Aboard the Drunken Lullaby!

 

The Plank

I’d sail the Seven Seas with you
If only you’d just ask,
But you point out we have no boat
And have to finish school.

Then I say I don’t care for school,
And boats are made of wood!
“There’s lots of trees in my back yard,
And nails out in the shed!

Besides! It’s not about the shed,
Not even ’bout the boat!
‘Cuz really all we need is Love,
And we have lots of that!”

“The world just doesn’t work like that.
Why can’t you understand?
I’d love to sail away with you,
Not knowing where we’d land–”

“Then come! We’ll say goodbye to Land,
And set our sails to Wind!
Then someday when we’re good and old,
Drop anchor down and rest!”

“We’ve years to sail before we rest,
You’re right! Pack up! Let’s go!
Forget the chart! Forget the map!
Just don’t forget the rum!

Tonight, my Love, we toast the rum
In tankards held up high!
We sail tonight by light of Moon,
On mirrored starry sky.”

Your words lift me into the sky,
As they did yesterday,
Just as they have on every day
We’ve sworn to sail away.

I know this oath to sail away.
I know we never do.
But I can’t kill this dream inside
To sail away with you.

 

Spyglass over the Stern

I said I’d sail away with you,
But that was long ago.
You never asked, so I moved on.
Just thought I’d let you know.

-ODP

About leahrayanne

Autumn. Long conversations. Tea. People. Undisturbed land. Cooking. Literature. Teaching. Learning. Hiking. Travel. Laughter. Things built to last. Love. Home.
This entry was posted in the poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Poems for an Old Love.

  1. oldsalt1942 says:

    Found your poems “tag surfing.” Nice.

    Wish I’d written this, but it was Shel Silverstein:

    “Walk the plank,” says Pirate Jim.
    “But Capt. Jim, I cannot swim.”
    “Then you must steer us through the gale.”
    “But Capt. Jim, I cannot sail.”
    “Then down with the galley slaves you go.”
    “But Capt. Jim, I cannot row.”
    “Then you must be the pirate’s clerk.”
    “But Capt. Jim I cannot work.”
    “Then a pirate captain you must be.”
    “Thank you, Jim,” says Capt. me.

  2. leahrayanne says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s funny that you posted a Shel Silverstein poem; my own little poems have been described as “a mix of Robert Frost and Shel Silverstein.” Also, I almost didn’t even use “pirate” or “sailing” as tags on this post, but something made me go back and add them. I’m so glad I did! And I hope very much that you stop by again sometime!

  3. oldsalt1942 says:

    I’m sure, as a wordsmith, you meant to use the word envious instead of jealous.

    Both sides of my family tree go back to the 1630s in New England. Both paternal and maternal settled first in Watertown, Mass., outside of Boston. I find it intriguing that both families certainly must have known each other in what was then a tiny village 300+ years before the descendants of each family met, fell in love and got married.

    My last name is actually Philbrick, Staigg being an old family name and Richard Staigg (my first and middle names) was quite a well known portrait and miniature painter in the mid 1800s in Boston and Newport, RI. If you google “Phamous Philbricks” you find I am also related to Winston Churchill, the author Nathaniel Philbrick, and my absolute favorite, Frank Cady who played storekeeper Sam Drucker on Pettycoat Junction and Greenacres.

    • leahrayanne says:

      You know, I don’t really even consider myself to be a wordsmith, but you’re right, I suppose I did mean to say “envious.” Thanks!

      That’s very interesting about your family! I love studying my heritage and hearing about the heritages of others. How fascinating! And I would love to be related to Frank Cady. My mom makes me watch Green Acres and Petticoat Junction with her from time to time. I pretend not to like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

