Grown-ups should be more like kids.

Apparently my sisters woke up this morning dead set on having a Winter lemonade stand.  Their idea was to go door-to-door in the neighborhood selling cups of hot chocolate for a quarter.  Brilliant, I thought.  Too cold outside, thought Dad and Christy.  But they let the girls go for it anyway, and for that I was proud of them.  But for the record, it is really cold outside.

So the girls waltzed next-door with hot chocolate and high hopes.  The neighbor lady turned them down saying she didn’t have any money on her and she’d already had her morning coffee.  C’mon, who really can’t find 25 cents anywhere in their house?  And who is going to crush the hopes of a couple of eleven-year-olds because she’s already had a cup of coffee today?  Oh well.

Anyway, the girls came back home just as happy as you please, squealing “It’s too cold out here for selling hot chocolate!!” and they abandoned their Winter lemonade stand without a second thought.

It just struck me how simple and how happy kids can be.  My sisters woke up this morning dead set on a goal.  They went for it.  They failed miserably.  And they had a blast doing it, so they didn’t mind in the least.  I’m not saying that adults should relish failure.  But I think we “grown-ups” could certainly learn something from the simple, undaunted happiness of kids.

-ODP

About leahrayanne

Autumn. Long conversations. Tea. People. Undisturbed land. Cooking. Literature. Teaching. Learning. Hiking. Travel. Laughter. Things built to last. Love. Home.
This entry was posted in the thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grown-ups should be more like kids.

  1. A Smart Critic says:

    Fucking stupid. Give up writing.

    • leahrayanne says:

      Thanks for the advice, but I probably won’t give up writing. I wasn’t going for any great or artistic writing with this post. I was simply sharing something that was on my mind for those who are interested. If you’re not interested, great. I’m not offended. Sorry you wasted your time reading my blog. Sorry you wasted even more time commenting on it.

      You might want to give up negativity though…

    • pdub says:

      For such a “Smart Critic” you have made an incredibly inarticulate and inane response to this post. You clearly need to find a new hobby, as critiquing another persons writing does not make a good fit for you. And for the record, gratuitous usage of profanity may work in Hollywood and denigration may be the status quo in this day and age, but none of this flies in a blog of this quality and character. Please find another line of ‘work?’ And for the record, if you don’t have anything nice to say, Read Someone Else’s Blog!!!! (Capitalization added for emphasis.) There are millions. Find one you like! Write one of your own. I mean, even complete idiots can start a blog. So you should be just fine! Good day.

  2. I’m always amazed by the resilience of children. In the end, our character is formed, not by having ourselves hoisted high on the shoulders of others, but by picking our own selves up after we fall.

  3. Rick says:

    I would rather shoot for a goal or a big dream and fail than shoot for nothing and achieve it. At the very least, going for it will teach you things that will increase your likelihood of success the next time AND you will have practiced how to set goals.

    • leahrayanne says:

      Rick, I completely agree!! There are many lofty goals I’ve failed to reach, but I’ve always learned from them and grown because of them. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s kind of limping along right now because of my crazy busy life, but I hope to start posting more consistently very soon.

Leave a Reply

