The world from a tire swing.

Charles and I decided to go to the Fort tonight to soak up the sunshine and relative warmth.  After a lovely hike, I enjoyed a tire swing while my man went to get the car.  Left alone for a few minutes in the dusk, I was suddenly captivated by the world around me caught somewhere between Winter and Spring.  I twirled in a slow circle, taking in the full moon rising over the pond in the East and the fragile-looking silhouettes of bare trees against the pink and purple Western horizon.  Almost directly above me, Jupiter was already shining clear and bright and small, before any of the stars.  I breathed deeply, drinking in the fresh, cold air, and I realized just how long it had been since I let myself be completely captivated by the world.

It seems fitting in a way that I left this blog in late Autumn, promising to write just as soon as I came to terms with Winter, and then I didn’t show my face again until February started acting like April.  That’s probably about how long it’s been since I last took the time to spin around on a tire swing and admire Creation.  Maybe it’s because our Winter was mild and muddy instead of frosty and white.  Believe me, I’m not complaining.  It’s been nice for a change to go through December and January without “traipsing for miles across the Ball State campus when it’s twenty below.”  That’s what I was hoping to avoid in my last post, right?  I got what I wanted.  But I’m starting to see now that perhaps Winter’s beauty lies in its bitterness.  You have to let the wind bite your cheeks if you want to find yourself in a moonlit wood among black trees and blue snow with big, soft flakes falling all around.

For whatever reason, other than one evening in December which happened exactly like I just described, I think I more or less missed those moments this Winter.  But you’d better believe I’m not going to this Spring.

-ODP

About leahrayanne

Autumn. Long conversations. Tea. People. Undisturbed land. Cooking. Literature. Teaching. Learning. Hiking. Travel. Laughter. Things built to last. Love. Home.
This entry was posted in the thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The world from a tire swing.

  1. “Winter’s beauty lies in its bitterness.” ~ Indeed it does. Nice post, I really enjoyed it.

    • leahrayanne says:

      Thanks so much for your encouragement, Greg! I briefly checked out your blog as well, and it certainly looks like someplace where I need to spend more time. I loved your “The Ice is Blue” poem! Thanks for stopping by ODP, and I hope you come back!

Leave a Reply

